# Mission Statement

The South African Radiographer promotes excellence in the profession of radiography by its dedication to the publication of research, by its active promotion and support of all levels of education, and its encouragement and dissemination of the best practice.

The South African Radiographer includes research findings on:

(i) all aspects of diagnostic imaging related to diagnostic radiography inclusive of computed tomography, sonography, nuclear medicine and magnetic resonance imaging,

(ii) all aspects of radiation therapy and oncology, and

(iii) all aspects of education relevant to radiography.

It also provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and information on clinical, scientific and professional aspects of radiography.

#### Aims of the Society of Radiographers

The Society of Radiographers of South Africa (Society) is a non-profit professional association with voluntary membership. It is open to all radiographers, student radiographers and supplementary diagnostic radiographers who are registrable with the Health Professions Council of South Africa (HPCSA), and organisations and institutions with direct interest in the profession of radiography. The Society is regionally represented in all the large centres in South Africa and is a member of the International Society of Radiographers and Radiological Technologists (ISRRT).

The aims of the Society are mainly to represent radiographers and to promote reliable radiographic services in South Africa by influencing training and by promoting an advisory service for the evaluation of equipment.

The Society actively encourages continuing professional advancement of radiographers and to this end it regularly holds update seminars and national congresses, which are open to all interested persons. The Society is the only professional radiographic association in Africa, which publishes a professional journal with local, neighbouring countries and overseas circulation. Persons who wish to join the Society can obtain further information from the regional branches and/or the administrative office.

Administrative Office:	701 Boland Bank Building • 18 Lower Burg Street • Cape Town
<b>Administrative Secretary:</b>	Ms Gail McLellan • P O Box 6014 • Roggebaai 8012

Tel: (27)-(0)21-419 4857 • Fax: (27)-(0)21-421 2566 • Email: sorsa.admin@iafrica.com

#### Office Bearers 2006/7: National President: Mr A Speelman

P 0 Box 2099 • Sarepta 7582

Tel: 021-442 6160 • Fax: 021-447 2963

Past President: Mrs J Motto

P 0 Box 17011 • Doornfontein 2098

Tel: 011-406 2111 • Fax: 011-406 8457

National Treasurer: Mrs L Munro

P 0 Box 30339 • Mayville 4058

Tel: 031-360 3404 (W) • Tel/Fax 031-206 0329 (H)

#### National Secretary: Miss W Bower

P 0 Box 6014 • Roggebaai 8012

Tel: 021-404 4061 (W) • Fax: 021-421 2566

## **CPD Committee:** *Mrs L Crichton - Chairperson* ● Tel: 041-392 3296

Mrs L Munro (see above)

*Mrs J Motto* • Tel: 011-406 2111 *Mrs R Boshoff* • Tel: 021-932 7320

Ms Y Hechter • Tel: 011-314 0140

#### Ms S Brussouw

### **Regional Branches: Bellville** PO Box 19129, Tygerberg 7505

Reliville	PU Box 19129, Tygerberg 7505
Bloemfontein	PO Box 11102, Universitas Bloemfontein 9321
Cape Town	PO Box 13072, Mowbray 7705
Johannesburg	PO Box 17036, Benoni West 1503
KwaZulu-Natal	PO Box 30339, Mayville 4058
Port Elizabeth	PO Box 27132, Greenacres 6057
Pretoria	PO Box 28724, Sunnyside 0132

www.sorsa.org.za